John F Deane

John F Deane

John F Deane was born on Achill Island, County Mayo in 1943. He founded Poetry Ireland – the national poetry society – and The Poetry Ireland Review in 1979. He was also the founder of Dedalus Press, which he ran until 2004. He is the author of many collections of poetry and some fiction, including three novels, Where No Storms Come, In the Name of the Wolf and Undertow, and two collections of short stories, The Coffin Master and The Heather Fields.

Interviews with John F Deane

The best books on Poetry, recommended by John F Deane

The Irish poet and writer finds inspiration in the work of friends and fellow poets who combine relishing the wonders of the physical universe with a mystic, religious side – all best discussed over a few pints

© Five Books 2022