Gabriel García Márquez

Gabriel García Márquez

Gabriel García Márquez (1927-2014) was a Colombian writer. He was born in the town of Aracataca, the inspiration for Macondo, the setting of his masterpiece, One Hundred Years of Solitude. His use of ‘magical realism’ in his writing would go on to inspire many other writers, including Salman Rushdie and Toni Morrison. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982.

Books by Gabriel García Márquez

Interviews where books by Gabriel García Márquez were recommended

The Best Colombian Novels, recommended by Pilar Quintana

Colombian novels shot to international prominence after the publication of One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez, which told the story of his small, Colombian hometown by mixing in fantastical elements. The novel spoke to readers around the globe and García Márquez would go on to win the Nobel Prize in Literature. Here, contemporary Colombian novelist Pilar Quintana introduces us to the works of this ‘genius’ as well as some of the other great novels of Colombian literature.

© Five Books 2023

Get our newsletter