Catherine Lacey

Books by Catherine Lacey

Catherine Lacey is the author of the novels Nobody Is Ever Missing, The Answers, Pew, and Biography of X as well as the short story collection Certain American States. She has received a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Whiting Award, the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Fiction Award and a New York Foundation for the Arts fellowship. She has been shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize and the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award, and was named as one of Granta‘s Best of Young American Novelists. Her essays and short fiction have appeared in The New Yorker, Harper’s Magazine, The New York Times, The Believer and Granta.

Interviews with Catherine Lacey

The Best Counterfactual Novels, recommended by Catherine Lacey

Novelists often make the decision to create alternate realities—worlds that are very like, but not quite identical, to our own. Catherine Lacey, the acclaimed novelist whose latest book Biography of X is set in a United States in which the Southern states seceded during the 20th century, talks us through the process of plotting counterfactual timelines and recommends five books that explore the slippery relation between truth, reality, and fiction.

Interviews where books by Catherine Lacey were recommended

© Five Books 2024

Get our newsletter