Gavin Francis

Gavin Francis

Gavin Francis qualified in medicine from Edinburgh in 1999, then spent ten years travelling, visiting all seven continents. He is the author of six books, including Empire Antarctica, Ice, Silence & Emperor Penguins which was Scottish Book of the Year in 2013 and shortlisted for the Costa, Ondaatje and Banff Prizes; and the bestselling Adventures in Human Being (2015). His latest book is Island Dreams: Mapping an Obsession (2021), an account of his ‘islomania’ and a study of the role of the island in the cultural consciousness. He lives and practises medicine in Edinburgh.

Books by Gavin Francis

Interviews with Gavin Francis

© Five Books 2024

Get our newsletter