Ian McEwan ©Annalena McAfee

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan is a widely acclaimed British novelist. His first collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, came out in 1976. His novels have won multiple awards, including the Booker Prize in 1998 for Amsterdam. His books have been adapted for film several times – including for Atonement in 2007, and On Chesil Beach and The Children Act in 2018. His most recent books are Machines Like Me, recommended by mathematician Kit Yates as a great way for learning about AI and its ethical implications, and the Cockroach, a novella about Brexit.

Books by Ian McEwan

Interviews with Ian McEwan

Interviews where books by Ian McEwan were recommended

The best books on Justice and the Law, recommended by The Secret Barrister

The English legal system is struggling to ensure justice. Drastic government cuts and disastrous reforms have led to innocent people being let down by the system again and again. Reporting anonymously from the front line, The Secret Barrister sees it as their duty to keep the public informed. Here they discuss the books that have shaped the way they think about justice and its relation to the law.

© Five Books 2024

Get our newsletter